The Erlanger Historical Society was founded in November 1990, by council members at the Annual Kentucky League of Cities Convention. These City officials recognized the need to focus on, not only various historic sites within the City but, the people of Erlanger.

The founding of the Society was ignited by the upcoming Centennial Celebration of the Incorporation of The City of Erlanger in 1997, along with the Kentucky Bicentennial Celebration in 1992.

As history is created, the need for its preservation is essential in planning for the future. The Erlanger Historical Society is committed to preserving the history of the people of Erlanger, Kentucky.

Come join us!

Our meetings are held on the second Wednesday of each month at 7:00PM at the Erlanger Historical Depot Museum on Crescent Avenue in Erlanger, KY.

In 2002 the Erlanger Historical Depot and the Erlanger Proper Subdivision were accepted into the Department of the Interior Historical Registry. In the year, 2004 they were accepted as one of the State of Kentucky Highway Marker recipients. A celebration for all Erlanger residents and guest along with many Local and State dignitaries took place for the unveiling of the Highway Marker on Heritage Day, September 19,2004. Erlanger was one of three recipients in the State of Kentucky to receive a marker that year.

In 1874, following investigation upon investigation, the Cincinnati Southern Railroad voted to build a bridge across the Ohio River and to lay track along the route of the Lexington Pike to Florence. The Erlanger depot was built in 1877 and is the last remaining wooden depot between Cincinnati and Chattanooga. The depot is located in the Erlanger Proper Subdivision that was one of the first planned subdivisions in Northern Kentucky. The Erlanger Land Syndicate filed the plan with the Kenton County Clerk of Courts on May 31, 1887. This parcel of land was accepted into the National Register of Historic Places in 2002.

The Historical society along with the City of Erlanger was instrumental in receiving these honors for the Historical area of our city.